Ideation Week OWL 2020

Skilled crafts and university jointly shape the future of regional companies

A packing station for baked goods, a bicycle for bread rolls as a new distribution channel and participation in the virtual "home box" as a bakery: These are the practical results of Ideation Week 2020. Ideation Week OWL is an educational program that was developed jointly by the Institute for Science Dialog (IWD) of the Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Ap-plied Sciences and Arts and the Paderborn-Lippe District Association of Skilled Crafts. The aim of the event is to reflect a globally relevant topic, such as the megatrend of digitaliza-tion, in the entrepreneurial reality of life in craft enterprises in such a way that, after five days, tangible solutions and recommendations for action emerge for the participating com-panies. During the event, the students of the Technical University and interested high school students will have the opportunity to put the knowledge they have acquired in theory into practice.

In 2020, the Ideation Week OWL dealt with the future competitiveness of bakeries in the interplay of new business models and digitalized work processes. For one week, the stu-dents intensively explored the future challenges of the bakery trade, gained insights into the working world of a master baker and the associated tasks, were able to ask their questions and in this way approached the various problems. Not only in the field of digital technology, but also in the area of marketing and sales, the corresponding bakery businesses are faced with great challenges, and the sometimes strongly changing customer behavior and the as-sociated customer wishes are playing an increasingly important role. There are no limits to the creativity of the participants in working through the individual topics.

The Paderborn-Lippe District Association of Skilled Crafts sets the theme for the annual Ide-ation Week OWL in close exchange with its member companies from the various trades. Due to Corona, this year's event was more digitalized as a hybrid format - in terms of content, the focus was on the future of the bakery trade. It is precisely the challenges of the future that are close to the heart of Michael H. Lutter, who will take over the office of General Manager of the Paderborn-Lippe District Association of Skilled Crafts at the beginning of 2021: "New technologies are changing our world, and this poses major challenges for small businesses in particular. Ideation Week OWL combines the technological and innovative possibilities of science with the traditional value-added expertise of craft enterprises. In do-ing so, it makes use of the unbiased view of the participants, who enable the companies to look beyond the horizon of their day-to-day business. They also gain a deeper insight into companies that may be looking for a successor. For the companies, this provides an excel-lent opportunity to find solution scenarios for specific challenges and ultimately to increase their innovation potential in this way."

Ideation Week OWL is a teaching format of the future: socially relevant topics are addressed in an interdisciplinary, practical and project-specific manner. "The input of regional craft enterprises serves as a framework for approaching the regional impact of a global topic in a very hands-on way," Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl, head of the Institute for Science Dialogue, which is responsible for the conception and organization of the event week, reports.

"Ideation Week OWL is a modern teaching format. What is needed in practice and what is imparted in teaching flow together. Students work together with the skilled trades in inter-disciplinary teams and thus we not only empower our students, we also empower the skilled trades to address the challenges of the future and not only to see problems, but to create solutions," says university president Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krahl when asked what makes Ideation Week OWL special and what characterizes it.

Text: Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl & Miriam Hanke Photos: Tina Antonia Rotermund

 

Research survey: How are you working today?
Institute for Dialogue on Science (IWD) of TH OWL publishes survey on COVID-19

October 2020

New Work: How Corona has digitalized our work.

With the Covid 19 pandemic, many people have moved their office home. Never before so many employees have done most of their work digitally. The Institute for Dialogue on Science at the TH OWL conducted a survey to find out how this has changed the way we work and communicate.

Theresa Kellner and Tosca Albrecht, in their capacity as academic employees of the Institute for Dialogue on Science at the TH OWL and accompanied by Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl, asked nearly 260 employees what experiences they had gained in their home office in the months from April to June of this year and what influence this had on their way of working. "We dealt with the transformation of work in our team. And our survey has shown that the Corona experiences will massively change our working environment," says researcher Theresa Kellner. The study "How do you work today" is embedded in the the regional 2022project InnovationSPIN.

"A very important benefit of working within one's own four walls was the greater flexibility for most of those surveyed," says Theresa Kellner. The time spent in the home office made it possible to do sports during the lunch break instead of the canteen or to play with the children for an hour in the afternoon and then return to the desk after 8 pm. "The flip side is for most of the interviewees the mixture between work and private life", explains colleague Tosca Albrecht. Those who work in a home office need to structure themselves more. "Some of the interviewees have even set themselves a timer in order to take regular breaks and not be in constant stress".

The time spent in the home office has led to a strong shift in communication to digital. Presence meetings and corridor discussions were replaced by video conferences and e-mails. Almost 70 percent of the respondents took part in a video conference at least once a day during the period of the survey.

Around 46 percent of those surveyed say that the Corona period has significantly increased the use of digital tools. At the same time, many employees complain that information is lost as a result of digital communication. "Facial expressions and body language are an important part of communication and this is only transmitted to a limited extent in video conferences," explains Tosca Albrecht this perception. According to the employees surveyed in the study, this has also led to more misunderstandings. For example, when it came to how urgent something needs to be done. Almost all respondents complained about the lack of exchange and informal discussions in which knowledge and ideas can be swapped spontaneously.

Those who work exclusively in their home office for a longer period of time tend to identify less with their own company, according to the results of the survey. "Some test persons report that they no longer feel perceived as part of the team," says Tosca Albrecht. The respondents report that feedback and appreciation are more thrifty in the digital world than in normal office life. Companies that organize work in the home office must develop routines for this social aspect.

"After the experiences of the past few months, a majority of those surveyed would like to see a mixture of home office and office work," says Theresa Kellner, summarizing the results. "Home offices have gained a much better image in companies through the Corona period and are no longer considered unproductive or special arrangements for working mothers. At the same time, employees also see the advantages of the office as a social meeting place, where spontaneous discussions and thus innovations are generated".

Tosca Albrecht and Theresa Kellner conducted a survey to determine how the Covid 19 pandemic has changed the way we work

 

Responsible | Initiators
The survey by the Institute for Dialogue on Science, carried out by Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl, together with the staff members Tosca Albrecht and Theresa Kellner, was conceived within the framework of the ERDF research project "InnovationSPIN - New forms of work and learning". A project funded by ERDF, the federal state of NRW and the European Union.

Contact
Feel free to contact the research team with any questions or suggestions regarding the survey:
Tosca Albrecht      tosca.albrecht@th-owl.de
Theresa Kellner     theresa.kellner@th-owl.de

Ideation Week OWL 2020

Handwerk und Hochschule gestalten gemeinsam die Zukunft regionaler Unternehmen

November 2020. Eine Packstation für Backwaren, ein Brötchen-Fahrrad als neuen Vertriebsweg und die Beteiligung an der virtuellen „Heimatbox“ als Bäckerei: Das sind die konkreten Ergebnisse der Ideation Week 2020. Bei der Ideation Week OWL handelt es sich um ein Bildungsangebot, dass gemeinsam vom Institut für Wissenschaftsdialog (IWD) der Technischen Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe und der Kreishandwerkerschaft Paderborn-Lippe entwickelt wurde. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, ein global relevantes Thema wie z.B. der Megatrend der Digitalisierung an der unternehmerischen Lebenswirklichkeit in Handwerksbetrieben so zu spiegeln, dass nach fünf Tagen konkrete Lösungsmöglichkeiten und Handlungsempfehlungen für die teilnehmenden Unternehmen entstehen. Die Studierenden der Technischen Hochschule sowie interessierte Schülerinnen und Schüler bekommen während der Veranstaltung die Möglichkeit, ihr in der Theorie erworbenes Wissen in die Praxis umzusetzen.

Die Ideation Week OWL hat sich im Jahr 2020 mit der Zukunftsfähigkeit der Bäckereibetriebe im Spannungsfeld von neuen Geschäftsmodellen und digitalisierten Arbeitsprozessen auseinandergesetzt. Eine Woche lang haben die Studierenden sich intensiv mit den zukünftigen Herausforderungen des Bäckereihandwerks beschäftigt, haben Einblicke in die Arbeitswelt eines Bäckermeisters und die damit verbundenen Aufgaben bekommen, konnten ihre Fragen stellen und haben sich auf diese Weise den verschiedenen Problemstellungen angenähert. Nicht nur im Themenfeld der digitalen Technik sondern auch im Bereich Marketing und Vertrieb stehen die entsprechenden Bäckerei-Betriebe vor großen Herausforderungen, auch das sich teilweise stark verändernde Kundenverhalten und die damit verbundenen Kundenwünsche spielen eine immer größere Rolle. Der Kreativität der Teilnehmenden sind bei der Bearbeitung der einzelnen Fragestellungen keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Die Kreishandwerkerschaft Paderborn-Lippe setzt in engem Austausch mit ihren Mitgliedsbetrieben aus den unterschiedlichen Gewerken das Thema für die jährliche Ideation Week OWL. Corona-bedingt wurde die Veranstaltung in diesem Jahr als hybrides Format stärker digitalisiert – inhaltlich lag der Fokus dabei auf der Zukunft des Bäckereihandwerks. Gerade die Herausforderungen der Zukunft liegen Michael H. Lutter, der mit Jahresbeginn 2021 das Amt des Hauptgeschäftsführers der Kreishandwerkerschaft Paderborn-Lippe übernehmen wird, am Herzen: „Neue Technologien verändern unsere Welt, das stellt vor allem kleine Betriebe vor große Herausforderungen. Die Ideation Week OWL verbindet technologische und innovative Möglichkeiten der Wissenschaft mit der traditionellen Wertschöpfungskompetenz von Handwerksbetrieben. Dabei nutzt sie den unvoreingenommenen Blick der Teilnehmenden, die den Betrieben den viel beschworenen Blick über den Tellerrand des Tagesgeschäfts hinaus ermöglichen. Zudem erhalten sie auch tiefergehende Einblicke in die Unternehmen, die unter Umständen auf der Suche nach einer Nachfolgerin oder einem Nachfolger sind. Für die Betriebe ergibt sich so die exzellente Möglichkeit, Lösungsszenarien für spezifische Herausforderungen zu finden und schlussendlich auf diese Weise ihr Innovationspotential zu steigern.“

Bei der Ideation Week OWL handelt es sich um ein Lehrformat der Zukunft: Gesellschaftlich relevante Themen werden interdisziplinär, praxisnah und projektspezifisch bearbeitet. „Der Input der regionalen Handwerksbetriebe dient als Rahmen, um sich auf sehr konkrete Art und Weise den regionalen Auswirkungen eines globalen Themas anzunähern.“, weiß Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl als Leiter des Instituts für Wissenschaftsdialog zu berichten, das die Konzeption und die Organisation der Veranstaltungswoche verantwortet.

„Die Ideation Week OWL ist ein modernes Lehrformat. Das, was in der Praxis gebraucht wird und das, was in der Lehre vermittelt wird, fließt zusammen. In interdisziplinären Teams arbeiten Studierende mit dem Handwerk zusammen und somit befähigen wir nicht nur unsere Studierenden, wir befähigen auch das Handwerk, sich den Herausforderungen der Zukunft zuzuwenden und nicht nur Probleme zu sehen, sondern Lösungen zu schaffen“, sagt Hochschulpräsident Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krahl auf die Frage, was die Ideation Week OWL ausmacht und wodurch sie charakterisiert ist.

Text: Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl & Miriam Hanke    Fotos: Tina Antonia Rotermund

 

Forschungsumfrage: Wie arbeitest Du heute?
Institut für Wissenschaftsdialog (IWD) der TH OWL veröffentlicht Umfrage zu COVID-19

Oktober 2020

New Work: Wie Corona unsere Arbeit digitalisiert hat.

Mit der Covid-19-Pandemie haben zahlreiche Menschen ihr Büro nach Hause verlegt. Noch nie zuvor erledigten so viele Angestellte den Großteil ihrer Arbeit digital. Das Institut für Wissenschaftsdialog der TH OWL hat in einer Umfrage ermittelt, wie das unsere Art zu arbeiten und zu kommunizieren verändert hat.

Theresa Kellner und Tosca Albrecht haben als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen des Instituts für Wissenschaftsdialog der TH OWL unter Begleitung von Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl knapp 260 Beschäftigte gefragt, welche Erfahrungen sie in den Monaten von April bis Juni dieses Jahres im Homeoffice gemacht haben und welchen Einfluss das auf ihre Art zu arbeiten hatte. „Wir beschäftigten uns in unserem Team mit der Transformation der Arbeit. Und unsere Befragung hat gezeigt, dass die Corona-Erfahrungen unsere Arbeitswelt massiv verändern werden“, sagt Wissenschaftlerin Theresa Kellner, Die Untersuchung „Wie arbeitest Du heute“ ist eingebettet in das Regionale 2022-Projekt InnovationSPIN.

„Ein ganz wichtiges Plus der Arbeit in den eigenen vier Wänden war für die meisten Befragten die größere Flexibilität“, sagt Theresa Kellner. In der Mittagspause Sport statt Kantine oder nachmittags eine Stunde mit den Kindern spielen und dafür nach 20 Uhr nochmal an den Schreibtisch, das hat die Zeit im Homeoffice möglich gemacht. „Die Kehrseite ist für die meisten Befragten die Vermischung zwischen Beruf und Privatleben“, erklärt Kollegin Tosca Albrecht. Wer im Homeoffice arbeitet, muss sich stärker strukturieren. „Einige der Befragten haben sich sogar einen Timer gestellt, um regelmäßige Pausen zu machen und nicht im Dauerstress zu sein.“

Die Kommunikation hat sich durch die Zeit im Homeoffice stark ins Digitale verlagert. An die Stelle von  Präsenzmeetings und Flurgespräche traten Videokonferenzen und Mails. Knapp 70 Prozent der ProbandInnen haben im Zeitraum der Befragung mindestens einmal pro Tag an einer Videokonferenz teilgenommen.

Rund 46 Prozent der Befragten geben an, dass die Corona-Zeit die Anwendung von digitalen Tools deutlich verstärkt hat. Gleichzeitig bemängeln viele Beschäftigte, dass durch die digitale Kommunikation Informationen verloren gehen. „Mimik und Körpersprache sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Kommunikation und der wird in Video-Konferenzen nur bedingt übertragen“, erklärt Tosca Albrecht diese Wahrnehmung. Das hat nach Ansicht der Beschäftigten, die in der Studie befragt wurden, auch zu mehr Missverständnissen geführt. Zum Beispiel, wenn es darum ging, wie dringend etwas erledigt werden muss. Fast alle Befragten beklagen den fehlenden Austausch und informelle Gespräche, in denen man spontan Wissen und Ideen austauschen kann.

Wer längere Zeit ausschließlich im Homeoffice arbeitet, identifiziert sich tendenziell weniger mit dem eigenen Unternehmen, so das Ergebnis der Befragung. „Einige Probanden berichten von dem Gefühl, sich nicht mehr als Teil des Teams wahrgenommen zu fühlen“, sagt Tosca Albrecht. Die Befragten berichten, dass Feedback und Wertschätzung in der digitalen Welt sparsamer ausfallen als im normalen Büroalltag. Unternehmen, die Arbeit im Homeoffice organisieren, müssen für diesen sozialen Aspekt Routinen entwickeln.

„Ein Großteil der Befragten wünscht sich nach den Erfahrungen der vergangenen Monate eine Mischung aus Homeoffice und Arbeit im Büro“, fasst Theresa Kellner die Ergebnisse zusammen. „Homeoffice hat durch die Corona-Zeit ein deutlich besseres Image in den Unternehmen bekommen und gilt nicht mehr als unproduktiv oder Sonderregelung für berufstätige Mütter. Gleichzeitig sehen Beschäftigte auch die Vorteile des Büros als sozialer Treffpunkt, in dem spontane Gespräche und damit auch Innovationen entstehen.“

Alle Ergebnisse finden Sie hier.

Tosca Albrecht und Theresa Kellner haben in einer Umfrage ermittelt, wie die Covid-19-Pandemie unsere Art zu arbeiten verändert hat

 

Verantwortliche | InitiatorInnen
Die Erhebung vom Institut für Wissenschaftsdialog, durchgeführt von Prof. Dr. Josef Löffl, gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiterinnen Tosca Albrecht und Theresa Kellner ist im Rahmen des EFRE-Forschungsprojektes „InnovationSPIN – Neue Formen der Arbeit und des Lernens“ konzipiert. Ein Projekt gefördert von EFRE, vom Land NRW und der Europäischen Union.

Kontakt
Gerne können Sie das Forschungsteam bei Fragen und Anregungen zur Umfrage kontaktieren:
Tosca Albrecht      tosca.albrecht@th-owl.de
Theresa Kellner     theresa.kellner@th-owl.de